REVIEW : THE SECRET DETECTIVES

TITLE: The Secret Detectives
AUTHOR: Ella Risbridger
GENRE: Historical Fiction
AGE CATEGORY: Children
FORMAT: Paperback
PAGES: 336
PUBLISHED: February 4th 2021
PUBLISHER: Nosy Crow

This post uses affiliate links and I may receive a small commission for purchases made through my links at no additional cost to you.

Amazon | Book Depository | Goodreads

When Isobel Petty is orphaned, she finds herself being taken away from her home in India and sent to live with a distant uncle in England. On board the S.S. Mariana, she witnesses a shocking act – somebody being thrown overboard in the middle in the night. But when the ship’s captain insists that nobody is missing, Isobel and her two new reluctant friends must solve two mysteries – the identities of both the murderer and the victim – before they reach England and the culprit has the chance to escape.

Inspired by The Secret Garden and the golden age of crime writing, The Secret Detectives is a gripping, beautifully historical mystery, from an incredible new voice in children’s fiction – perfect for fans of Robin Stevens and Katherine Rundell.


Read More »

REVIEW : THE FOUNTAINS OF SILENCE

TITLE: The Fountains of Silence
AUTHOR: Ruta Sepetys
GENRE: Historical Fiction, Young Adult
FORMAT: Hardcover
PAGES: 495
PUBLISHED: October 3rd 2019
PUBLISHER: Penguin

Amazon | Book Depository | Goodreads

FROM CARNEGIE MEDAL WINNING AUTHOR RUTA SEPETYS

Madrid, 1957. Tourists and foreign businessmen flood into Spain under the welcoming guise of sunshine and wine while Spanish citizens are gripped by a dark secret.

Daniel Matheson, the son of an oil tycoon, hopes to connect with the country of his mother’s birth through the lens of his camera. Photography -and fate – introduce him to Ana, a hotel maid, whose family is suffering under the fascist dictatorship of General Franco.

Daniel and Ana’s lives and hearts collide as they unite to uncover the hidden darkness within the city – a darkness that could engulf them all. . .

Master storyteller Ruta Sepetys once again shines light into one of history’s darkest corners in this epic, heart-wrenching novel about identity, unforgettable love and the hidden violence of silence.


Read More »

REVIEW : THE INVENTION OF HUGO CABRET

9673436

TITLE: The Invention of Hugo Cabret
AUTHOR: Brian Selznick
GENRES: Historical Fiction, Young Adult
FORMAT: Hardback (Finnish edition)
PAGES: 543
PUBLISHED: 2008
PUBLISHER: Tammi

Amazon|Book Depository|Goodreads

Selznick’s Caldecott Medal winner and #1 NY Times bestseller is now available in ebook form! Exquisitely produced, it offers a reading experience so unique, you’ll want both the print and ebook editions!

Orphan, clock keeper, and thief, Hugo lives in the walls of a busy Paris train station, where his survival depends on secrets and anonymity. But when his world suddenly interlocks — like the gears of the clock he keeps — with an eccentric, bookish girl and a bitter old man who runs a toy booth in the station, Hugo’s undercover life and his most precious secret are put in jeopardy. A cryptic drawing, a treasured notebook, a stolen key, a mechanical man, and a hidden message from Hugo’s dead father form the backbone of this intricate, tender, and spellbinding mystery.

With 284 pages of original drawings, and combining elements of picture book, graphic novel, and film, Brian Selznick breaks open the novel form to create an entirely new reading experience. Here is a stunning, cinematic tour de force from a boldly innovative storyteller, artist, and bookmaker.

Read More »

REVIEW : DAISY JONES & THE SIX

43998422._sx318_

TITLE: Daisy Jones & The Six
AUTHOR: Taylor Jenkins Reid
GENRES: Historical Fiction, Contemporary
FORMAT: Audiobook
LENGTH: 9hrs 4mins
PUBLISHED: March 5th 2019
PUBLISHER: Random House Audio

Amazon|Book Depository|Goodreads

Everyone knows Daisy Jones & The Six, but nobody knows the reason behind their split at the absolute height of their popularity . . . until now.

Daisy is a girl coming of age in L.A. in the late sixties, sneaking into clubs on the Sunset Strip, sleeping with rock stars, and dreaming of singing at the Whisky a Go Go. The sex and drugs are thrilling, but it’s the rock and roll she loves most. By the time she’s twenty, her voice is getting noticed, and she has the kind of heedless beauty that makes people do crazy things.

Also getting noticed is The Six, a band led by the brooding Billy Dunne. On the eve of their first tour, his girlfriend Camila finds out she’s pregnant, and with the pressure of impending fatherhood and fame, Billy goes a little wild on the road.

Daisy and Billy cross paths when a producer realizes that the key to supercharged success is to put the two together. What happens next will become the stuff of legend.

The making of that legend is chronicled in this riveting and unforgettable novel, written as an oral history of one of the biggest bands of the seventies. Taylor Jenkins Reid is a talented writer who takes her work to a new level with Daisy Jones & The Six, brilliantly capturing a place and time in an utterly distinctive voice.

Read More »

REVIEW : I WAS ANASTASIA

33989585

TITLE: I Was Anastasia
AUTHOR: Ariel Lawhon
GENRES: Historical Fiction
FORMAT: Audiobook
LENGTH: 13 hours
PUBLISHED: March 27th 2018
PUBLISHER: Random House Audio

Amazon|Book Depository|Goodreads

Countless others have rendered their verdict. Now it is your turn.

Russia, July 17, 1918 Under direct orders from Vladimir Lenin, Bolshevik secret police force Anastasia Romanov, along with the entire imperial family, into a damp basement in Siberia where they face a merciless firing squad. None survive. At least that is what the executioners have always claimed.

Germany, February 17, 1920 A young woman bearing an uncanny resemblance to Anastasia Romanov is pulled shivering and senseless from a canal in Berlin. Refusing to explain her presence in the freezing water, she is taken to the hospital where an examination reveals that her body is riddled with countless, horrific scars. When she finally does speak, this frightened, mysterious woman claims to be the Russian Grand Duchess Anastasia.

Her detractors, convinced that the young woman is only after the immense Romanov fortune, insist on calling her by a different name: Anna Anderson.

As rumors begin to circulate through European society that the youngest Romanov daughter has survived the massacre, old enemies and new threats are awakened.

Read More »