REVIEW : NINTH HOUSE

TITLE: Ninth House
AUTHOR: Leigh Bardugo
SERIES: Alex Stern
GENRE: Fantasy
AGE CATEGORY: Adult
FORMAT: Paperback
PAGES: 458
PUBLISHED: October 9th 2019
PUBLISHER: Gollancz

Amazon | Book Depository | Goodreads

Galaxy “Alex” Stern is the most unlikely member of Yale’s freshman class. Raised in the Los Angeles hinterlands by a hippie mom, Alex dropped out of school early and into a world of shady drug dealer boyfriends, dead-end jobs, and much, much worse. By age twenty, in fact, she is the sole survivor of a horrific, unsolved multiple homicide. Some might say she’s thrown her life away. But at her hospital bed, Alex is offered a second chance: to attend one of the world’s most elite universities on a full ride. What’s the catch, and why her?

Still searching for answers to this herself, Alex arrives in New Haven tasked by her mysterious benefactors with monitoring the activities of Yale’s secret societies. These eight windowless “tombs” are well-known to be haunts of the future rich and powerful, from high-ranking politicos to Wall Street and Hollywood’s biggest players. But their occult activities are revealed to be more sinister and more extraordinary than any paranoid imagination might conceive.


Read More »

REVIEW : MIDDLEGAME

TITLE: Middlegame
AUTHOR: Seanan McGuire
GENRE: Fantasy
AGE CATEGORY: Adult
FORMAT: Paperback
PAGES: 528
PUBLISHED: April 7th 2020
PUBLISHER: Tordotcom

Amazon | Book Depository | Goodreads

Meet Roger. Skilled with words, languages come easily to him. He instinctively understands how the world works through the power of story.

Meet Dodger, his twin. Numbers are her world, her obsession, her everything. All she understands, she does so through the power of math.

Roger and Dodger aren’t exactly human, though they don’t realise it. They aren’t exactly gods, either. Not entirely. Not yet.

Meet Reed, skilled in the alchemical arts like his progenitor before him. Reed created Dodger and her brother. He’s not their father. Not quite. But he has a plan: to raise the twins to the highest power, to ascend with them and claim their authority as his own.

Godhood is attainable. Pray it isn’t attained.

USA Today Bestseller, and named as one of Paste Magazine‘s 30 Best Fantasy Novels of the Decade!


Read More »

REVIEW : MURDER AT THE BOOK CLUB

43362288._sx318_

TITLE: Murder at the Book Club
AUTHOR: Betsy Reavley
GENRES: Adult, Mystery
FORMAT: Audiobook
LENGTH: 6 hours
PUBLISHED: December 13th 2018
PUBLISHER: Whole Story QUEST

Amazon|Book Depository|Goodreads

“A deliciously Agatha Christie-style mystery that sucks you in from the first page.” Sibel Hodge bestselling author of Look Behind You

“A good old Whodunnit from Ms Reavley that will keep readers guessing till the very end!” J.A. Baker Bestselling author of The Other Mother

Imagine nine women meeting. Tea and cake are on the coffee table. They’ve come together to share their love of books. They are friends. They trust each other. It’s a happy gathering. What could be more harmless?

Then scratch the surface and look closer.

One is lonely. One is desperate and one of them is a killer.

When the body of a woman is discovered on a Cambridge common, DCI Barrett and DI Palmer are called in to investigate. But the motive behind the crime isn’t clear… And it all leads back to a book club.

As the lies, volatile friendships and tension among the group rise to the surface, DCI Barrett and DI Palmer must work out the motive and track down a cold-blooded killer. But just when they think they are on the right track, a twist in the case throws them off course…

Betsy Reavley is the best-selling author of multiple thrillers including The Opticians Wife, The Quiet Ones and Frailty. Murder at the Book Club is an unmissable new whodunnit which will appeal to fans of authors like Cara Hunter, Rachel Abbott, Faith Martin and LJ Ross.

Read More »

REVIEW : THE CHEMIST

31176886

TITLE: The Chemist
AUTHOR: Stephenie Meyer
GENRES: Adult, Fiction
FORMAT: Finnish Paperback
PAGES: 511
PUBLISHED: December 2016
PUBLISHER: Otava

Amazon|Book Depository|Goodreads

In this gripping page-turner, an ex-agent on the run from her former employers must take one more case to clear her name and save her life.

She used to work for the U.S. government, but very few people ever knew that. An expert in her field, she was one of the darkest secrets of an agency so clandestine it doesn’t even have a name. And when they decided she was a liability, they came for her without warning.

Now she rarely stays in the same place or uses the same name for long. They’ve killed the only other person she trusted, but something she knows still poses a threat. They want her dead, and soon.

When her former handler offers her a way out, she realizes it’s her only chance to erase the giant target on her back. But it means taking one last job for her ex-employers. To her horror, the information she acquires only makes her situation more dangerous.

Resolving to meet the threat head-on, she prepares for the toughest fight of her life but finds herself falling for a man who can only complicate her likelihood of survival. As she sees her choices being rapidly whittled down, she must apply her unique talents in ways she never dreamed of.

In this tautly plotted novel, Meyer creates a fierce and fascinating new heroine with a very specialized skill set. And she shows once again why she’s one of the world’s bestselling authors.

Read More »