TOP 5 TUESDAY #12 : BOOKS WITH FOOD ON THE COVER

A weekly meme created by Shanah at Bionic Book Worm, now hosted by the amazing Meeghan at Meeghan reads.

Today we are taking a look at the books with food on the cover. (Embarrassed to admit that I have not paid enough attention obviously cause only one comes to my mind right now.) But after venturing through all the books I’ve read, I came to the conclusion that when you mostly read fantasy, there really isn’t much food on the covers.


Read More »

REVIEW : THE SECRET DETECTIVES

TITLE: The Secret Detectives
AUTHOR: Ella Risbridger
GENRE: Historical Fiction
AGE CATEGORY: Children
FORMAT: Paperback
PAGES: 336
PUBLISHED: February 4th 2021
PUBLISHER: Nosy Crow

This post uses affiliate links and I may receive a small commission for purchases made through my links at no additional cost to you.

Amazon | Book Depository | Goodreads

When Isobel Petty is orphaned, she finds herself being taken away from her home in India and sent to live with a distant uncle in England. On board the S.S. Mariana, she witnesses a shocking act – somebody being thrown overboard in the middle in the night. But when the ship’s captain insists that nobody is missing, Isobel and her two new reluctant friends must solve two mysteries – the identities of both the murderer and the victim – before they reach England and the culprit has the chance to escape.

Inspired by The Secret Garden and the golden age of crime writing, The Secret Detectives is a gripping, beautifully historical mystery, from an incredible new voice in children’s fiction – perfect for fans of Robin Stevens and Katherine Rundell.


Read More »

TAG THURSDAY #2 : NETGALLEY TAG

Hello everyone! Today we are doing another book tag in honor of it being Thursday.
My head is completely empty at the moment. I tried to take a nap before I have to go to work, but my son kept waking me up every ten minutes.

Anyway, this tag was created by Kourtni Reads but it seems there’s no blog of hers anymore. So let’s see what the questions are all about!


Read More »

REVIEW : SCYTHE

TITLE: Scythe
AUTHOR: Neal Shusterman
SERIES: Arc of a Scythe #1
GENRE: Fantasy, Dystopia
AGE CATEGORY: Young Adult
FORMAT: Paperback
PAGES: 447
PUBLISHED: February 1st 2018
PUBLISHER: Walker Books

This post uses affiliate links and I may receive a small commission for purchases made through my links at no additional cost to you.

Amazon | Book Depository | Goodreads

A dark, gripping and witty thriller in which the only thing humanity has control over is death.

In a world where disease, war and crime have been eliminated, the only way to die is to be randomly killed (“gleaned”) by professional scythes. Citra and Rowan are teenagers who have been selected to be scythes’ apprentices, and despite wanting nothing to do with the vocation, they must learn the art of killing and understand the necessity of what they do.

Only one of them will be chosen as a scythe’s apprentice and as Citra and Rowan come up against a terrifyingly corrupt Scythedom, it becomes clear that the winning apprentice’s first task will be to glean the loser.


Read More »

FIRST LINE FRIDAY #10

Welcome to first line Friday! It is hosted by Hoarding Books and the idea is to grab a book and share the first line from that book. Let’s try and see if we can find something new to add to our ever growing TBRs this way.


The Castilian town smelled of gunpowder, of partridge and rabbit blood, of smoke curling up from the chimneys.


Read More »