REVIEW : MURDER AT THE BOOK CLUB

43362288._sx318_

TITLE: Murder at the Book Club
AUTHOR: Betsy Reavley
GENRES: Adult, Mystery
FORMAT: Audiobook
LENGTH: 6 hours
PUBLISHED: December 13th 2018
PUBLISHER: Whole Story QUEST

Amazon|Book Depository|Goodreads

“A deliciously Agatha Christie-style mystery that sucks you in from the first page.” Sibel Hodge bestselling author of Look Behind You

“A good old Whodunnit from Ms Reavley that will keep readers guessing till the very end!” J.A. Baker Bestselling author of The Other Mother

Imagine nine women meeting. Tea and cake are on the coffee table. They’ve come together to share their love of books. They are friends. They trust each other. It’s a happy gathering. What could be more harmless?

Then scratch the surface and look closer.

One is lonely. One is desperate and one of them is a killer.

When the body of a woman is discovered on a Cambridge common, DCI Barrett and DI Palmer are called in to investigate. But the motive behind the crime isn’t clear… And it all leads back to a book club.

As the lies, volatile friendships and tension among the group rise to the surface, DCI Barrett and DI Palmer must work out the motive and track down a cold-blooded killer. But just when they think they are on the right track, a twist in the case throws them off course…

Betsy Reavley is the best-selling author of multiple thrillers including The Opticians Wife, The Quiet Ones and Frailty. Murder at the Book Club is an unmissable new whodunnit which will appeal to fans of authors like Cara Hunter, Rachel Abbott, Faith Martin and LJ Ross.


whatithhik

Murder at the Book Club sounds like a fantastic idea for a book! But sadly this book fell into the mediocre category. This had a lot of potential to be a great book but I found it lacking something.

First of all I hoped for some more Book Club happening! Book starts with a book club meeting but that’s all we get of that. And that meeting is basically grown women fighting over petty things, not quite the idea of a book club, right?
The name being about a book club, I truly hoped it would involve a lot of book club meetings / chats. But pretty much the only places book club was mentioned, were times when detectives were talking about the victims being members of the book club.

Next, those fights got annoying. At times I forgot I was reading a book about adults, not tweens or young adults having a fight over a boy. Yes, we do fight as well as tweens, but I’d like to think it’s more mature than one adult calling the other one a bitch / whore.

It wasn’t all bad okay? I liked how easy this was to read, well listen, yet still it required some brain work to be done in order to try and figure out who the unsub is. But sadly when you figure it out, you know it for sure.

What got me by surprise was how cold and heartless the unsub was in the end! The characters being all happy go lucky from the start and fighting over ones smoking etc, I wasn’t expecting them to be that cold.

All in all I had fun reading Murder at the Book Club. This is an easy read and quite fast as well. But if it says to be about a murder at the book club, I hoped to see some actual book club stuff.

rq

hanna-1

Instagram | Goodreads | Facebook

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s